River Horse Tripel Horse

Beer:  Tripel Horse
Brewery: River Horse Brewing Co.
Style: Tripel
ABV: 10.0%

Serving Style: Bottle
Glassware: Wine glass
Drinking Establishment: Kerensa’s kitchen
Primary Consumer: Kerensa

——–

OVERALL RATING:

Sight: Cloudy, light honey color. Two-inch bright white, fluffy head that leaves thick lacing on glass, and fades quickly.

Scent: Bananas, bananas, bananas. And bubblegum. And yeasty esters (why, hello, alcohol).

Flavor: BOOZE. Geez, I know this is 10% and all, but taking my first swig of this reminds me of my first shot of vodka at the young age of…ahem, 21. After I get passed that, I taste the banana phenols and a little bit of the advertised spice: cloves and coriander. It’s actually quite difficult to taste anything but the stinging alcohol note. It tastes sort of like a Band-Aid as I finish it (for those who know me, I like a good Penicillin, so this taste does not bother me, but rather, is just part of the drinking experience!).

Feel: Almost perfect body (hot damn).

Concluding remarks: Listen, for $1.99, a bottle of this is a pretty righteous deal. The flavor profile is nothing to write home about, but this is surprisingly DRINKABLE (ugh) considering the high alcohol content. There are some decent flavors in here, but they are hard to access with this alcohol frontin’ every sip of the way. I’ll echo what I said about the Boaks Two Blind Monks: this is a fine beer. And it is always good to support local businesses (River Horse hails from Lambertsville, NJ). However, River Horse’s Tripel Horse drowns in the river (groan). I like the old-timey type on the label, though.

Categories: Belgian | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

