Weltenburger Kloster Asam Bock

Beer:  Asam Bock
Brewery: Weltenburger Kloster
Style: Doppelbock
ABV: 6.9%

 Serving Style: Bottle
Glassware: Pilsner glass
Drinking Establishment: Kerensa’s apartment
Primary Consumer: Kerensa

——–

OVERALL RATING:

Sight: Dull, dark brown body with a huge, frothy, bubbly beige head that vanishes quickly.

Scent: Sweet, overripe raisins doused with caramel sauce.

Flavor: Milky, sweet malt taste. No disrespect, Weltenburger, but this tastes like a ‘I’m trying too hard to be a dark lager’ lager. What should be subtle flavors are instead in-your-face and make this obscure German beer hard to finish.

Feel:  Light-to-medium mouthfeel.  The carbonation is spot-on.

Concluding remarks: What the H is an Asam Bock and what the F is it doing in my Bock line-up? [The answer, I realize, is 1) a Doppelbock and 2) I am reviewing all Bocks this month, including Doppelbocks.] But this tastes nothing like any of the other Bocks I have tried this month, and not in a good way. I am going to start a petition to have Weltenburger remove ‘Bock’ from its label. It can keep Asam, sure, that’s great. But don’t you dare ruin my Bock, brewery that has been around for almost a thousand years! Clearly I am right and you are wrong!

Editor’s note (and by Editor, I mean the author 10 minutes after finishing the beer): Okay, so I’ve done some research, and I’ll admit that I have been reviewing regular ol’ Bocks this month. This here Asam is my first Doppelbock of the month. It seems as though the cloying sweetness is part of the Doppelbock profile. While I cannot attest to this yet, I will agree to try this beer again after reviewing a handful of Doppelbocks. It’s only fair.

Oh, and for the record, “Asam” refers to Cosmas Damian Asam. I knew that sounded familiar; he was a German Baroque painter who painted a number of religious-themed frescoes in Italian churches–thanks Rutgers’ Art History program! Also, Cosmas’s face is found on the label of this beer. Clearly I should’ve realized this, but clearly I was also too excited to dive in…

Pentecost, 1720, Aldersbach

Categories: Bock | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

